Dodona gives you answers

How do I open my Google Maps route in Adobe Illustrator?

with 8 comments

In Google Maps, you have the “My maps” link. If you are logged in with your Google Account, this is the place where you can save your driving directions, or locations or routes you can create on Google maps.

For a project I was doing, I needed to export a route I had drawn in Google Maps to a path I could use in Illustrator. This is how I did it:

  • Create your route in Google Maps.
  • Save it in “My Maps”.
  • Click on the “View in Google Earth” link (in the blue bar above the map right).
  • You can now download your route as a .kml file.
  • Surf to indiemapper.com/app/
  • Now open the downloaded .kml file.
  • After successfully opening the .kml file, click on the “export” button (top right).
  • Save the .svg file.
  • Open the saved .svg file in Illustrator.
  • Done!

Link: indiemapper.com/app
Status: Tested it, works.

Written by lutsen

March 24, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Posted in DTP

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! thnx for this…I did everything you suggested but when I open the .svg file in Illustrator 10 there is no art work!
    Any ideas why this may be happening?

    Thanks a ton!
    H.bhulu

    hulubhulu

    February 14, 2011 at 6:52 am

    • Sorry but something doesn’t work. I created my rout, works great in google earth, but when I try to import it
      to app.indiemapper.com, all I have is my location point, no map, no route, no nothing. Just one dot. I tried multiple times with different locations, all produce same result.

      Monika

      September 19, 2011 at 11:54 am

    • Change/add the filename extension “.svg”

      joshyfrott

      August 12, 2013 at 10:29 pm

  2. site moved to
    You can access the indiemapper application at: http://app.indiemapper.com

    tim

    September 15, 2011 at 11:55 pm

  3. That jut saved me so many hours of hardwork. Thank you so much.

    leo

    March 28, 2013 at 1:08 pm

  4. Sorry, I’m having problems trying to open my .kml from google maps.
    Did you have any problems? were you able to see your route on indiemapper before exporting it to illustrator?

    maya

    September 25, 2013 at 11:59 pm

  5. Thank you for posting this. I tested and worked fine with Google map in My Maps, had problem with Google Map Engine Lite. Also some success with shapefiles.
    CindyJH

    Cindy Jones-Hulfachor

    December 4, 2013 at 8:20 pm

  6. Thx, this was excellent. I had created a dataset in Google Fusion Table which I wanted to add on top of another map – and what would be better than using Illustrator for that purpose?

    In order to use my kml-data in indiemapper, I had to extract the latitude and longitude coordinates for the adresses. To solve this I did the following:

    I installled Google Earth, opened the original kml-file, saved it as a kmz-file, extracted that file to a new kml-fil, which I were able to open in indiemapper🙂

    Mathias Madsen

    May 9, 2014 at 10:20 pm


Leave a Reply

