Dodona gives you answers

How do I migrate my Powerbook to my MacBook Pro without a fire-wire cable?

with 5 comments

I just got my new MacBook Pro and wanted to migrate my old Powerbook G4 to it. By default, this is done by connecting the two computers using a firewire cable. But my old Powerbook G4 has and old firewire port, and for the new MacBook, Apple for some reason has decided it needs a different firewire port. And now I have no firewire cable to connect the two different ports…

In the installation/migration program, Apple suggest to connect both computers to your local network using ethernet cables. But I was doing this at home and only had one ethernet cable present… Apples next suggestion is to migrate using Airport. I started doing this, but it was very slow and would take about 8 hours to complete (and my hard-disk wasn’t even that full).

I didn’t want to wait that long, so I aborted the migration and decided to create the smallest possible network, and connect the two computers directly using the ethernet cable (so without a router). And this worked! The migration now was finished in about an hour and a half.

Conclusion: If you don’t have the right fire-wire cable and want to migrate your Powerbook to your MacBook Pro, connect them directly using an ethernet cable.

Status: Tested it, works.

Written by lutsen

January 13, 2009 at 11:38 pm

Posted in Mac

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very clever! Thank you so much, you saved my weekend!

    Jan

    April 13, 2009 at 6:21 am

  2. Hi how are you i really liked this.

    Colleen Basiliere

    February 2, 2010 at 7:55 am

  3. In the conclusion paragraph, instead of “connect them directly using a fire-wire cable”, shouldn’t it say “connect them directly using a ethernet cable”?

    Michael

    February 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    • @michael: You’re right, thanxs, I corrected it.

      lutsen

      February 7, 2010 at 2:40 pm

  4. I’ve been trying what you suggest but it has not worked for me. The source computer recognizes the target computer. I put in the code from the target computer and then it just starts searching again for another computer?!?? Haven’t a clue why it’s doing this. ANY THOUGHTS WELCOME.

    mc

    April 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm


Leave a Reply

