Dodona gives you answers

How can I measure things on my screen in Mac OSX?

with one comment

As a webdesigner I often want to measure if a certain distance or size in a browser window corresponds to the distance I want it to be. A handy way to do this is to use an on-screen ruler which measures distances in pixels on your screen.

I used to use the ruler option in Art Directors Toolkit for this, which comes bundled with Mac OS X. What I like about this ruler is the compound option, so you can measure horizontal and vertical distances at the same time. A disadvantage is that it has the default Mac OS X shadow. This can make it quite difficult to measure things exactly, because the shadow blocks your view. You can solve this problem by using ShadowKiller, a little app which removes (or returns) all shadows behind Mac OS X windows. It works, but is not very handy.

Today I found PixelStick. It is a ruler, but with no shadow! Great! And it’s free too! Disadvantage: no compound option. But I like the simple-ness of it. You can use it to measure distances in any angle (default), but also lock it to measure only horizontally or vertically. And just as the Art Directors Toolkit ruler it always stays on top of the other application windows.

Links:
Art DIrectors Toolkit: www.code-line.com/software/artdirectorstoolkit.html
PixelStick: www.pixelatedsoftware.com/products/pixelstick/

Status: Tested (both), Works (both)


Interested in a Content Management System built for webdesigners by webdesigners? Check out Spike CMS.


Written by lutsen

September 16, 2008 at 11:53 am

Posted in Mac

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there,

    I know this post is kind of old but I’ve got a read treat for you (if you still do web designs):

    http://pixf.it

    It’s a small app I’ve created lately and it’s available on the Mac App Store. Please spend a moment to see what it does – it’s AMAZING!🙂

    I’m a web developer myself and I just got tired of using CMD+SHIFT+4 to measure things.


Leave a Reply

